The Bernoulli prize for an outstanding survey article in probability or mathematical statistics

 Probability and statistics are undergoing a substantial increase in both the breadth of scope and the mathematical technicality of many areas of specialization. There is a need for expertly written survey articles that will communicate an historic perspective on the successes, failures and general health of the area, as well as provide young researchers with a point of entry to the frontiers of the field. The Bernoulli Society plays a role in recognizing and communicating the importance of such scholarly efforts through a special award.

 The Bernoulli Prize for an Outstanding Survey Article is to recognize authors of an influential survey publication in the areas of probability and mathematical statistics, respectively. The paper should be timely in addressing areas of active or emerging importance, but have been in circulation long enough for there to be evidence of its impact.

The award consists of the prize amount of 1000€ together with an award certificate. The combined awards are biennial, starting with a paper in probability and presented in a formal ceremony at the Bernoulli World Congress (BWC) in the summer of 2012, and a prize for a paper in mathematical statistics is awarded in 2014, and formally presented at the ISI Statistics World Congress (SWC) in the summer of 2015, and each so awarded every four years, thereafter.

The Committee for the Bernoulli Prize for an Outstanding Survey Article in Probability has been formed as follows: David Aldous (Chair), Alain-Sol Sznitman, Nina Gantert.

Call for nominations in probability

According to the award specifications, nominations exclude self-nominations, and can otherwise be submitted to the committee chair David Aldous This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Nominations should include full name and email address of both the nominee and nominator, as well as a pdf file of the published article in probability.  Nominations should be submitted by November 30, 2011.

© Bernoulli Society