During the 2016 Bernoulli World Congress in Toronto, Allan Sly was awarded the Doeblin Prize. Sara van de Geer as Bernoulli Society President added the following to accompany the awarding of the prize:

This prize is awarded to a single individual for outstanding research in the field of probability, and who is at the beginning of his or her mathematical career. The Committee for Conferences on Stochastic Processes has elected you as the prize winner.

You are a very broad young probabilist, with great taste for fundamental problems at the intersection between probability theory, statistics, statistical physics and theoretical computer science. You have worked on topics such as Glauber dynamics for the Ising model, random k-satisfiability, interacting particle systems, the connection between computational complexity and phase transitions. Each of these topics has witnesed fundamental progress due to your efforts.

You are invited to submit to the journal Probability Theory and Related Fields a paper for publication as the Wolfgang Doeblin Prize Article, and will also be invited to present the Doeblin Prize Lecture at Conference on Stochastic Processes and their Applications 2017.

Then, I hereby hand over the certificate, as well as an official letter of the BS.



Our new statutes included a Publications Secretary in the composition of the Executive Committee. Following the new statutes, President Sara van de Geer, after consulting this matter with the Council, appointed Thomas Mikosch for the office, which should be confirmed at the next General Assembly.

We are pleased to announce the named lectures for the 9th World Congress of Probability and Statistics. The main plenary speakers are:
- Sara van de Geer (Wald Lecture)
- Bin Yu (Rietz Lecture)
- Scott Sheffield (Doob Lecture)
- Ofer Zeitouni (Schramm Lecture)
- Byeong Park (Laplace Lecture)
- Valerie Isham (Bernoulli Lecture)
- Ruth Williams (Kolmogorov Lecture)
- Servet Martinez (Levy Lecture)
- David Brillinger (Tukey Lecture)
- Frank den Hollander (IMS Medallion Lecture)
- Vanessa Didelez (IMS Medallion Lecture)
- Christina Goldschmidt (IMS Medallion Lecture)
- Arnaud Doucet (IMS Medallion Lecture)
- Pierre del Moral (IMS Medallion Lecture)

We are pleased to announce the series SpringerBriefs in Probability and Mathematical Statistics. Published by Srpinger under the auspices of the Bernoulli Society, SpringerBriefs present concise summaries of cutting-edge research and practical applications across a wide spectrum of fields. M. Podolskij is serving as Editor-in-chief, and N. Gantert, R. Nickl, S. Péché, G. Reinert, M. Rosenbaum, and W.B. Wu as Series Editors. http://goo.gl/UXOggy


This is a list of former non-presidential officeholders of the Bernoulli Society Executive Committee as of March 2024.

A list of former presidents can be found at http://www.bernoulli-society.org/about-the-bs.


Scientific Secretary           
1975-1985    Jef Teugels   
1985-1987    Robin Sibson    
1987-1992    Paul Embrechts  
1992-1996    Richard Gill
1996-2000    Wilfrid Kendall    
2000-2004    Enno Mammen    
2004-2008    Arnoldo Frigessi    
2009-2015    Nakahiro Yoshida
2015-2019    Byeong Park   
2019-2023    Song-Xi Chen
2023-2027    Jianfeng (Jeff) Yao

1975-1981    Jim Durbin    
1981-1987    Nils Keiding
1987-1989    R.J. (Bob) Serfling    
1990-1993    Kobus Oosterhof    
1994-1996    Joe Eaton
1997-2001    Allan Gut    
2002-2004    Mathisca de Gunst    
2005-2008    Ursula Gather    
2009-2012    José-Manuel Corcuera
2012-2019    Lynne Billard
2020-2021    Geoffrey Grimmett
2022-2025    Johan Segers

Membership Secretary           
1994-2007    Volker Mammitszch   
2007-2012    Josef Steinebach
2012-2017    Mark Podolskij
2017-2019    Leonardo T. Rolla

2020-2025    Sebastian Engelke

Publications Secretary
2016-2018    Thomas Mikosch
2018-2022    Herold Dehling
2022-2026    Mark Podolskij

Publicity Secretary
2018-2020    Victor Panaretos
2021-2023    Leonardo T. Rolla
2024-2025    Corina Constantinescu   



© Bernoulli Society