Further news and details on some of the information below can be found in:

Please see also the list of upcoming conferences and meetings.

Announcements and News

Call for Papers for a Special Issue of the International Statistical Review on ENERGY STATISTICS. For more details see Call_for_Papers_EnergyStatistics.pdf.

David Ruppert, Cornell University, is the new editor of the Electronic Journal of Statistics (EJS), starting January 2010. EJS is an open access publication sponsored by the Bernoulli Society and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics.

The Latin American Regional Chapter of the Bernoulli Society announces and congratulates the winners of the 2009 CLAPEM edition of the Francisco Aranda-Ordaz award for the best Ph.D. theses written by Latin American students. The winners are:
In Probability, Sebastián Grymberg, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina, for his thesis "Construcción y simulación perfecta de campos markovianos con splines", adviser Pablo Ferrari.
In Statistics, Maria da Gloria Abage de Lima, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil, for her thesis "Essays on heteroskedasticity", adviser Francisco Cribari.
Both are invited speakers to present their works in the XI CLAPEM, in Caracas, Venezuela, November 1-6, 2009.

James R. Norris, Statistics Laboratory of the Centre for Mathematical Sciences in Cambridge, was elected as chair of the Committee for Conferences on Stochastic Processes for a two years term, starting January 2010.

Sad news for our community. Erich L. Lehmann died on 12 September 2009. He was a Professor Emeritus of the University of California at Berkeley who made fundamental contributions to the theory of statistics. He was known to be a great mentor to young researchers in statistics. Erich L. Lehmann leaves a legacy of outstanding contributions to research, teaching and professional service recognized the world over. Obituray for Erich Lehmann by his family and Peter Bickel.

As for August 1st 2009, Ada van Krimpen is the new Director of ISI and the new Executive Secretary of Bernoulli Society.

Richard A. Davis (Columbia) has accepted to be the new Editor-in-Chief of Bernoulli Journal, instead of Holger Rootzen (Göterborg) who ends his three year term by December 2009.

Vicky Fasen and Robert Steltzer (Munich) are the new editors of Bernoulli News, ending their two year term Eric Cator (Delft) and Erik Van Zwet (Leiden).

The Bernoulli Society Council approved to keep for the year 2010 the same membership fees as for 2009.

A sad news for our community. Professor Kiyosi Ito passed away in November 2008. See the article "Kiyosi Itô Remembered" by Marck Yor in the Bernuolli News and see the articles about Kiyosi Itô on UNjobs.

© Bernoulli Society